Rethinking Steve's Advice: Cantilever Sewing Box

TimboTimbo Posts: 7
To celebrate my first year as a disabled woodworker, I thought it time to attempt a project that would push my abilities to their limits. Like many novice woodworkers I found myself lurking on TwitFace and TubeBook and of course gravitated towards WWMM. There were three reasons for this. Firstly the clear and concise instructions in Steve's content. Secondly the thought Steve puts into 'simple' methods of construction and machining and finally the fact that Steve includes his mistakes. Let's face it if Steve is happy to show his errors and how he corrects them then I'm happy to give the project a whirl. So why then, after all Steve's hard work, do I find myself deconstructing his methods to find an 'easier' method?

I will give you an example. The box joint. Steve demonstrated an easy method of making box joints using a simple jig. Living in the UK I don't have the luxury of a dado set for the table saw. So instead the router table is my best choice. You would think so. I mean its often quoted as being the safest and most effective tool for carrying out many operations. It might be if you have two working hands. One handed...I almost killed myself.

One of the most important lessons I've learned from Steve is to think a project through. Design, materials, construction methods and how to adapt all of them to accommodate my disability. I kid you not, I even have practise the movements my body is going to have to make to carry out any particular operation. I almost dance my way through a project before I pick up a tool. So bearing all this in mind I decided on a project which would be a gift for my harshest critic...my better half. I'd seen Steve's video on the knitting box, I knew I wanted to try box joints, I also wanted to really push myself so decided on making a cantilever sewing box.